An Atlanta In Japan: Part 9

Ghibli Museum: Mitaka city, Japan

outside the museum - totoro!

outside the museum – totoro!

As a huge anime fan, I am particularly fond of the Studio Ghibli movies, especially those produced by recently-retired Hayao Miyazaki.  Needless to say, I had to go to the Ghibli Museum in Mitaka city on my trip to Japan.  Tickets must be purchased in advance, as early as 2-3 months.  It is not only famous to Ghibli lovers outside Japan, but for many Japanese as well.  The bad thing is that they don’t allow photography inside the museum.  Unfortunately, my mum also wanted to leave early that day and so I missed my one good photo opportunity of the large metal giant that can be found in the movie, “Castle In The Sky”.

The museum is…definitely for little kids.  You have to be a true Ghibli lover to literally be surrounded by dozens of Japanese children.  The good thing is that the Japanese have one of the best disciplinary approaches that I have seen.  Even the children who had temper tantrums were considered mild by far.

The museum is located a good 45-minute train ride from Tokyo Railway station.  Weekends are probably worse because many people are out and about.  Sometimes it is difficult to get a seat and so it can make for a long ride.  The best part about the museum though is the gift store.  I have wanted these Ghibli Totoro stamps for about 2 years now, and they were ridiculously pricey on Amazon.com.  After seeing what they were worth at the gift shop, I am definitely glad that I made this stop here this trip to Japan!

It’s definitely a great place to take your children, especially if they have been exposed to the world of Ghibli.  There is a huge Catbus room where the kids can actually go into a stuffed replica of the Catbus found in the movie, “My Neighbor Totoro”.  I wish that this had been around when I was little!

Thank you for being patient during my three week absence.  Keep an eye out for more posts.  We have one last post about the Tsujiki Fish Market in Tokyo, and then we’ll be moving onto Singapore, land of my birth!

Keep it real and those feet moving!

R/g

This entry was published on June 27, 2014 at 23:48. It’s filed under Asia, Japan, The Traveller and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “An Atlanta In Japan: Part 9

  1. Ahh I love Totoro! I heard a lot about the Ghibli Museum! Gotta check this out if I’m ever in Japan. Ps: are you a Singaporean living in Atlanta? (:

    • I can’t say that I am Singaporean, but I was born there and lived there until after Primary 1. Parents are originally from Malaysia. But pretty much Asian American with a lot of home culture influence from my parents and having visited frequently to see my grandparents. 🙂 The Ghibli museum is probably a must see for most fans, but honestly, I did feel like I was paying for the giftshop given the amt of kids that were there. Still, I’m considered a die-hard fan so it’s hard to pass up, esp after flying 15+ hours across an ocean! Thanks for stopping by the site! Hope to see you again soon! Cheers – R/g

Leave a Reply

