An Atlantan In New York: Burgericious

Salvation Burger: Midtown, Manhattan, NY, NY, USA

I can’t say that this was the best burger I’ve had.  Truthfully, I want to say that Atlanta has better burgers (so far).  Then again, I don’t normally go for a burger when there are so many more delicious meat options in New York.  However, I met up with some friends here to try their burgers specifically. Now mind you, I don’t eat burgers that much but when I do, it’s definitely got to be top notch. Atlanta has its fair share of delicious burger joints, some of which have been featured on Food Network (Holeman & Finch) as well as by some chefs on Top Chef (Richard Blais, Kraft).  This is going to be tough to beat. However, we got to try quite a number of things:

Roasted Oysters Appetizer
PROS
– savory and not over seasoned, still stewing in their own juices
– not overcooked, oysters were still tender
– came out fresh and not sitting on a shelf (still bubbling if I recall correctly)
CONS
– nothing really but nothing that would stand out so that I’d write home about it.

Salvation Burger - roasted oysters

Strawberry Shortcake milkshake
PROS
– this was the bomb, not overly thick but yet thick enough to be called a milkshake
– not icy: sometimes some milkshakes use frozen ice-cream which comes out very grainy, this place does it very well
– not too sweet
CONS
– not enough strawberries. Some people would like it purely shake, I like mine like I like my strawberry ice-cream, with small chunks of strawberry in there.

Salvation Burger
PROS
– large in height and quantity
– always a fan of shoestring onion fries on top
CONS
– a bit lacking in flavor, there is a sauce that goes on top but it wasn’t that great nor was it enough to give a balance between the meat and the bread.
– the bread was dry dry dry.
– cost was not worth the burger. not even close.

Salvation Burger - the Salvation burger

Arugula salad with buttermilk dressing
PROS
– good quantity, shareable for two
– goes well with meat and burgers
CONS
– could use more dressing or some tomatoes. No significant balance or any fusion of flavors that I would be expecting.

Salvation Burger - green salad with buttermilk dressing

 

Fish Burger
PROS
– had vegetable
– decent amount of tartar sauce on there
– fish was cooked well
CONS
– although maybe had too much of just one vegetable. As my friend said, it’s almost as if a whole lettuce was on there

All in all, I’m not sure if I would come back for a burger to this place. I’d definitely come back for the strawberry shortcake milkshake though.  If you wanted to find Salvation burger, they are located here, in midtown.  Reservations can be made on resy.com

230 E 51st St, New York, NY 10022
Let me know what you think, especially if you’ve had some of the burgers in the A!
R/g
© 2017 http://www.rammiegirl.com  ©2017 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on April 1, 2017 at 17:00. It’s filed under American, restaurants, series, The Gastronome, The Traveller and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

