An Atlantan In New York: Steak

Peter Luger’s SteakhouseBrooklyn, NY, USA

 This was a fall eating spree so the post is much delayed but I came because my guest really wanted to eat some steak, and she swore that Peter Luger’s is the best steakhouse in New York.  Truth be told, I am not much of a meat eater, much less steak.  I can’t handle the grease and the meat just doesn’t digest too well, but I do know how to appreciate a really good piece of beef.  Personally, I tend to go for a nice wagyu style type of meat but having never been to Peter Luger’s, this was one for me to put in the books.

We all ended up splitting up Steak for Three and splitting a porterhouse.  The porterhouse is basically the strip steak one one side and the filet mignon attached to the bone.  I believe we asked for the meat to be done in two ways, medium and medium rare.  We also got the “bacon” appetizer.  The dinner was served with house onion rolls on the table with a generous serving of butter.  We also did get the sundae with homemade schlag but I couldn’t get a good picture since it was so dark. Let’s break this down:

Steak for Three
PROS:
– perfectly done. When you say medium, they make it medium.  There is not really room for error and this really makes or breaks it for me.  It really sucks when they have to take back a good piece of steak just to cook it a bit more.  At that point, I’d almost wish that it was overcooked so I could get a fresh piece of meat.
– juicy, good flavors, not overly seasoned.
– the filet is standard: super tender and falling apart in my mouth.
– they do cut it up for you and serve it on the plate, another nice plus.

CONS:
-none really.  It’s good steak but it didn’t blow me away like a few other places I’ve been to.  Like a good wagyu sushi actually has more flavor and doesn’t kill the stomach with the grease.  But this is a nice decent steak.

peter-luger-porterhouse-for-2

The Bacon
PROS:
– fantastic portion of thick-cut cured bacon
– good flavor

CONS:
– not for those watching their weight
– lots of fat: the bacon isn’t cooked down until it’s crispy, you’re going to have that thick fatty layer of pork belly sitting right on in there.

peter-luger-bacon

The Sundae
PROS:
– super large portion: if you didn’t have any steak, it might be doable to finish this on your own otherwise I’d recommend sharing
– schlag: homemade whipped cream = legit.  It really makes or breaks the sundae
– not overly sweet

CONS:
– not for those who are lactose intolerant
– on the heavier side of dessert.  Let’s face it, Luger’s though is not for the fainthearted.  Everything here is heavy maybe minus the salad selection but most people are not coming here for that.

Would I come here again? I’m not really sure to be honest. It’s a great piece of steak, but I’ve had a good steak in Atlanta as well.  Truth be told, my friends have grilled me some pretty good steaks using their BGE and now sous vide devices.  It’s pretty good for New York though.  One thing that I don’t really like is that it’s cash-only.  It’s also ridiculously loud and boisterous.  I’d recommend it but having not tried other steakhouses in the city, it’s a bit hard to justify the haul down from the upper east side

In summary:

  • Steak for Three: ***.75 (3.75 stars)
  • Bacon Appetizer: **** (4 stars)
  • Sundae: ***.75 (3.75 stars)

You can find Peter Luger’s all the way out in Brooklyn.  I definitely recommend cabbing it if you plan on going.  Also, you have to make reservations really early in advance or eat at a really ridiculous time.  We had dinner at 10pm.

178 Broadway, Brooklyn, NY 11211

Let me know what you think.  Maybe you steak lovers out there can get a better sense of whether this place is really as awesome as they claim it to be.

R/g

© 2017 http://www.rammiegirl.com  ©2017 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on February 7, 2017 at 22:15. It’s filed under American, restaurants, steak, The Gastronome, The Traveller and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

