Drop Dead Sushi

MF Sushi: Atlanta, GA, USA

Alright.  I am really excited to write this post because it was the first time in many years that I have had some ridiculously good tasting sushi.  When I mean ridiculously good tasting sushi, I mean sushi that almost came close to the equivalent of Sushi Yasuda, a Michelin 1-star restaurant, in New York City.  That’s pretty hard to come by in Atlanta, much less the South.  I want to give a shoutout to VV and Dan B for this indirect recommendation via Instagram as well because I never would have known about it otherwise.

This restaurant had an original location in E. Ponce De Leon Avenue but from what friends had told me, had closed for a period of time.  They are now in a new location, in a small but very new strip with apartments and public (but paid) parking right next door.  The atmosphere seems a bit high-class but I definitely came in with jeans and was served beautifully.  I really liked to color scheme of this place.  While I normally do not write much about the decor, I found MF Sushi to be very earthy, simple, and right up my alley of how I would want to eat my decadent and delicious sushi.

They have a lunch menu and a dinner menu, but I chose lunch because it was a smaller menu, and I wanted natural lighting for photos.  I also knew what I was going to order which was essentially sushi and nigiri, and this made the lunch menu perfect for me.  I ordered the following:

  • tako sunomono: octopus vinagrette salad
  • sushi sashimi set A: five pieces of nigiri sushi and 6 pieces of sashimi, two fish types – chef’s choice.
  • uni nigiri: the waitress told me that the uni was flown in from Japan that day and so it had to be ordered.
  • chu-toro nigiri: medium grade fatty-tuna, also flown in from Japan and ordered

Miso soup and a side salad with ginger dressing was served as well, complimentary from the house.

MF Sushi - salad

 Are you ready to be blown away by these pictures? Let’s have at it:

Tako Sunomono: very lightly dressed with thin slices of octopus and cucumber. This is one of my favorite starters because the vinegar whets my already starving appetite but it isn’t so acidic where it cuts into my stomach lining.

PROS

  • great flavor and balance of the mirin and the rice vinegar
  • tako (octopus) was not overcooked, tender and not rubbery
  • served with equal or slightly less amount of thin sliced cucumbers and a little bit of wakame, giving a nice variety of texture.

CONS

  • the amount of sunomono for what you are paying for.  They better have wrestled the octopus with bare hands for this dish.
tako sunomono

tako sunomono

Sushi Sashimi Set A: When I asked the waitress what types of fish were served, she said that it would be up to the chef, which is very understandable.  She did tell me too though that it was mostly the more common types of fish like salmon and tuna, also acceptable.

PROS

  • melt in your mouth fish: this is top-grade sushi.  There are a ton of “Japanese” sushi restaurants, some are run by authentic Japanese, some with people who have training in Japan, and some by random Asians (usually Korean) who want to open up a sushi/Japanese restaurant.  To get fish this soft that falls apart in your mouth as you chew is hard to find.  Most of the time, you have to really give the fish a good chew.  This place has it down.
  • sushi rice was cooked to perfection: not overly sticky, each piece was firm and yet fully-cooked, not undercooked
  • good amount of wasabi underneath each piece of nigiri: I can’t stand the “generous” portions of wasabi that certain places use because it overwhelms the flavor of the fish and throws off the balance between fish and sushi rice.
  • balanced portion of fish to rice ratio

CONS

  • NONE
sushi sashimi set A

sushi sashimi set A

sushi sashimi (up close)

sushi sashimi (up close)

Uni (sea urchin): I’m comparing this to the uni from Sushi Yasuda which was so creamy and fresh that it literally dissolved in my mouth.  While this did NOT dissolve in my mouth, it did do a very slow melt with some chewing required (also because there is sushi rice involved).  The most important part was that there wasn’t that nasty almost-fermented fishy taste that you get from old or cheap/frozen sea urchin.  Thank you Japan for letting us fly it in!

PROS

  • the most melt-in-your-mouth you can find in ATL (to date for me)
  • no fermented fish flavor
  • great portion of uni: was somewhat falling off the seaweed and the rice but I’m okay with that because if I’m paying for something that’s flown in from Japan, I want all of that stuff scraped out from that spiny shell.
  • probably the second best uni nigiri that I’ve had in the USA, but I’ve yet to order it out west so this will be put to the test in April when I go out to the Bay!

CONS

  • this is friggin expensive.
uni (sea urchin)

uni (sea urchin)

uni (up close)

uni (up close)

Chu-toro nigiri: Toro (Fatty Tuna) is my first favorite type of fish to order when it comes to nigiri sushi or for sashimi.  I would prefer to get this nigiri style because the fish is usually so large that I can break off the sides and taste the fish on its own, but still have enough fish left to eat it with the rice and get the full nigiri effect.  This was again, also flown in from Japan, and I ordered it only because they did not have O-Toro, the fattiest grade of tuna possible.  (I’m probably going to die from mercury poisoning if anything but hopefully it won’t be painful and there will be a cure or at least a way to purge it safely from my body).

PROS

  • melt-in-your-mouth fresh: I did not get this at Sushi Yasuda, but I did get O-Toro there, therefore I cannot compare because the levels of fattiness really distinguish these two cuts of fish from each other.
  • sushi rice perfection, again.
  • good balance of rice to fish
  • also minimal wasabi paste, thank you so much MF sushi!

CONS

  • be prepared to throw down your credit card blindly at the end of the meal and just cry when you get your monthly statement.  For a sushi lover though, it’s totally worth it.
chu toro (medium fatty tuna)

chu toro (medium fatty tuna)

chu toro (up close)

chu toro (up close)

I can’t say how much I love this place.  I love it so much that it’s made my potential list of birthday dinner celebration spots for this year which is really hard to make!  The only downfall to that is the hefty price tag, knowing that it will limit who can attend.  All in all, here is my summary:

  • tako sunomono:***.75 (3.75 stars)
  • sushi sashimi set A: **** (4 stars)
  • uni nigiri: ****.15 (4.15 stars)
  • chu-toro nigiri: ****.15 (4.15 stars)

Their new location is off N. Highland Ave, just a mere five minutes down the road from the infamous Highland Bakery.

299 North Highland Avenue Northeast, Atlanta, GA 30307
When my friend and I met up for lunch, I had made a reservation for two, but the place was seemingly empty.  This is probably because not too many people or previous patrons knew of its new location, but I am sure that this will become crazy busy once they find out!  You can make your reservation on OpenTable here for Atlanta.  They do have other locations that you can check out on their website.  Please let me know what you think or if I just happen to have had an off but amazing meal here!
R/g
© 2016 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2016 rammiegirl.wordpress.com  All Rights Reserved

 

This entry was published on January 9, 2016 at 17:22. It’s filed under Japanese, restaurants, sashimi, sushi, The Gastronome and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

