ATL Midtown Italian

Antica Posta Ristorante Toscana: Atlanta, GA, USA

My buddy was nice enough to invite me to his company Christmas dinner at Antica Posta down in Buckhead.  It was a bit odd for me as the last Christmas company party I attended was the University of Michigan OMFS (Oral Maxillofacial Surgery) party back in 2008.  Whoa! That being said, I did have a good time!  I got to meet a very nice elderly Navy vet by the name of Randy who knew a lot about Maryland, and we caught up quite a bit on the blue crab scene in Annapolis.  He was quite surprised to find out that I knew of the special Naval Academy hot spots. 😉 Food consumed that night included:

  • caprese salad
  • lobster bowtie pasta with white wine sauce
  • panna cotta with passion fruit (picture missing)

Caprese Salad: I had been eating way too much cheese, but I love it.  They did find a study of some sort that said cheese was the equivalent to crack.  It actually may even be more addicting!

PROS

  • large portion of fresh buffalo mozzarella – this was great.  GREAT.  I honestly feel that the caprese salad is the caprese salad because of the mozzarella.  I definitely do not believe in those tiny little nugget balls (although also tasty) when I order this.
  • not drenched in balsalmic: keeps the taste of the cheese in its finest form = pure.
  • tomatoes were not overripe.  Mushy tomatoes are a no no.

CONS

  • not enough arugula/basil: this definitely enhances the flavor of the caprese salad but it was slightly scant.  That or the cheese was just enormously huge!
caprese salad

caprese salad

Lobster bowtie pasta: I was torn between this and the veal, but I was trying to cut down on my meat intake so seafood it was!

PROS

  • very evenly dressed: not too much sauce, not too much oil
  • perfect al dente pasta
  • nice generous chunks of lobster meat

CONS

  • none. I actually really enjoyed this dish.  For some reason the little nooks of the bowtie hold just enough of the sauce when evenly tossed so that it retains a nice little bit of flavor.  I probably should have asked for some freshly grated parmesan or pecorino because in hindsight, that would have really boosted the dish.
lobster bowtie pasta

lobster bowtie pasta

Passion fruit Panna Cotta: I am kicking myself for not taking a picture of this.  Actually, I did take a picture but it was so dim in the restaurant by the time the dessert came out, nothing I took on my iPhone looked great at that point.

PROS

  • light and creamy.  This may be a bit bizarre, but panna cotta can be really “filling” because it is a heavy settled cream dessert
  • not overly sweet: just sweet enough to satisfy the palate and brain to tell you that the meal is over, but not enough to make you feel sick or your teeth to fall out.

CONS

  • none.  This was actually so good that my friend’s coworker regretted getting his chocolate mousse and was disappointed his fiance wouldn’t give up her panna cotta. HAHA.

It was a really nice night, and a fabulous dinner.  My summary is as follows:

  • caprese salad
  • lobster bowtie pasta with white wine sauce
  • panna cotta with passion fruit (picture missing)

I did get to try their octopus (pulpo) which was supposed to be among the best in Atlanta.  It was really good, super super soft and literally fell apart in your mouth.  In addition, it wasn’t over-seasoned, but I have to say that I do prefer a bit of a char to my octopus.  While Cooks & Soldiers was a bit heavy with the salt, I much prefer their method of preparing the pulpo.  Anyways, thanks to Ber for the invite because the food was indeed super tasty!  You can find Antica Posta here:

519 East Paces Ferry Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305
Best wishes for this holiday season!
R/g
© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on December 24, 2015 at 21:36. It’s filed under Italian, North America, restaurants, The Gastronome, USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

