Steak in the Suburbs

Stoney River: Alpharetta, GA, USA

This is a steakhouse that has been close to where I live for many years.  I want to say that it’s been there since my high school days which is way over a decade ago.  Still, it seems to be the place to go to for nice steak in the ‘burbs, at least up here.  My parents normally go to Longhorn steakhouse for beef.  We don’t normally eat steak or beef at home so it was a nice treat for them to go out.  However, I wanted to take them to somewhere a little better.  They don’t like to drive too far and since downtown was not an option, this was the next best thing.  Mum and I split the 22-oz cowboy ribeye with a side of sweet potato casserole.  I also ordered a salad because I wanted something fresh on the plate as well.  Dad decided to get the 10-oz filet mignon.  Ooohhh.

Personally, I prefer the ribeye much better in terms of flavor.  The filet is known for being the most tender cut of meat, which it is.  But it also has the least amount of fat and marbling.  To me, I prefer a little bit more fat in my meat.  It doesn’t mean it’s any softer, but the flavor is a little richer.  Truth be told, I like prime rib quite a bit too – it has the tenderness of a filet (if it is done right) and that nice rich flavor of sizzling fat when seared.  In addition, the bread basket that Stoney provides is pretty top notch.  We definitely killed two of them while waiting for our food.  The rolls were cute, perfectly round, and hot not to mention, they were freshly basted with butter given the glistening oil on their crispy surface.

bread roll, poppyseed

bread roll, poppyseed

Here we go with my thoughts on everything we ate that night:

22-oz Cowboy Ribeye, medium

PROS

  • definitely shareable for light eaters
  • good flavors, especially bone-in.  There is something about leaving the bones in your meat that give that extra flavor that can’t be replaced with salt and seasoning.
  • cooked just right: medium.  I didn’t have to send it back, I didn’t have to get another one.  GREAT.

CONS

  • slightly salty.  I don’t know what it is about steakhouses that like to go heavy on the salt.  I like my meat to taste like meat, not meat rubbed in salt.
  • I still prefer a dry-aged steak over a wet-aged steak.  Stoney River I think does it wet-age.  Dry-aging supposedly allows more marbling of the meat, marbling as in with fat.  Now I’m not exactly sure how this process works, but being someone who likes that nice fatty marbling in her meat, especially her ribeye, I am a dry-aged girl all the way.
ribeye (up close)

ribeye (up close)

Sweet Potato Casserole (side)

PROS

  • not too sweet! I like this actually.  Some places tend to be heavy with the brown sugar and then on top of it, add that extra marshmallow topping.  I don’t think you need that much additional sugar as the potato itself is already naturally sweet.
  • handmade per order: this was personally guaranteed by my waitress when I asked her how sweet it was and she said she couldn’t say because it was done per order by hand.
  • went really well with the saltiness of the steak!

CONS

  • more crumble would be nice.  While I know that the brown sugar is the one that creates the crumble, it’d be nice to have a little bit more crunch.

Garden Salad: The thing that caught my eye was the fact that it had fruit in it.  I know that some people prefer a Caesar instead of a salad with fruit, but to me, the fruit cuts away a bit of the richness that can be found in some of the creamy dressings.  It lightens up the salad a little bit.

PROS

  • evenly dressed/tossed: no extra dressing standing at the very bottom, all leaves coated evenly
  • nice distribution of fruit to nuts to croutons

CONS

  • none really.  I could probably have used a little more croutons.
salad

salad

10-oz Filet Mignon, medium

PROS

  • super ridiculously tender: it was more tender than the ribeye, which is to be expected, but this thing was super soft and juicy.
  • 10-oz is a great quantity for a medium sized eater.  This was definitely shareable with us (so that I could blog about it) and also split with the 22-oz ribeye
  • not overcooked – this is awesome considering this is the most tenderest cut of meat ever.

CONS

  • again, heavy-handed with the salt. *sigh*

I liked it.  I thought it was a good dinner to take my parents too.  I don’t know if they would be able to tell the difference between a steak at Stoney’s that was done really well if not to perfection, and a steak done at Rathbun’s.  Well…my wallet would hope that could tell the difference, but they may not.  My dad probably won’t but my mom would if I goaded her to make a bit more of an effort. That being said, here’s a quick summary of what I thought of tonight’s meal:

  • 22-oz cowboy ribeye: ***.75 (3.75 stars)
  • 10-oz filet mignon: ***.85 (3.85 stars)
  • sweet potato casserole: ***.65 (3.65 stars)
  • garden salad: ***.75 (3.75 stars)

There are multiple locations given that they are a J. Alexander’s establishment.  J. Alexander’s is also known for their steak by the way.  So here is their website for you to find the one closest to you:

http://jalexandersholdings.com/StoneyRiver/

I hope the holidays are treating you well! We’ll be posting a recipe on kahlua cookies soon so keep your eyes peeled! Thanks so much for stopping by.

R/g

© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on December 19, 2015 at 21:45. It’s filed under American, restaurants, steak, The Gastronome and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

