An Atlantan in NYC: Rock N’ Roll Brooklyn Half – Part 2

Tanoshi Sushi Bar: Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

I specifically chose this place for its omakase and it’s high Yelp reviews.  Boasting an intimate setting, this seemed to be the perfect spot to not only compare my other omakase experience at Sushi Yasuda but to also give my good friend her first taste of Japanese sushi omakase.

For one, you have to make a reservation.  I can’t stress how important this is.  For one, the omakase is timed as in they only seat 6 to 8 people at a time.  People are allowed to order additional items on top of the set omakase or chef’s choice, but the menu for this is limited.  I want to say at most there are only eight to ten additional items that you can add to your omakase.

I have to say, this is a very different type of omakase.  For one, it is less traditional and has a slight twist to the sushi chosen.  Certain ones are very interesting and appeal to me, others I tend to prefer a more standard line.  However, the fish was fresh.  Was it as amazing as Sushi Yasuda?  I can’t say that it was.  Was it great and delicious, most definitely.  But there are a few pieces that I will highlight. The things we ate that night were:

  • fried fluke in basil
  • house appetizer
  • hamachi
  • salmon
  • salmon roe
  • skate
  • tuna
  • tuna rolls
  • yellowtail with pickled sakura leaf
  • uni
  • uni on ebi (sweet) shrimp (additional)
  • steamed abalone (additional)
  • braised scallop
  • miso soup (on the house)
braised scallop

braised scallop

steamed abalone

steamed abalone

house appetizer

house appetizer

Fried Fluke: this particular appetizer was ridiculously amazing.  Wrapped in Thai basil and then quickly doused in tempura batter and flash fried, it was amazing.  The flavors of the basil brought out the fluke very well.  Not to mention, it was fried!

fried fluke

fried fluke

fried fluke

fried fluke

skate

skate

Roe: I actually liked this piece of sushi at Tanoshi Sushi Bar.  For one, it wasn’t overly salty.  Normally, the thing that really kills me is the salt flavor, not the overly fishiness that roe can sometimes give off.  This was just the right balance.

roe

roe

salmon

salmon

Tuna/Maguro: This looked super fresh, but for some reason, it didn’t melt in my mouth quite like the maguro at Sushi Yasuda.  It was still very tasty but somehow just wasn’t as “fresh”.

Tanoshi Sushi - tuna (close)

tuna/maguro (up close)

tuna/maguro

tuna/maguro

tuna rolls

tuna rolls

Uni (Sea Urchin) on Ebi (Sweet) Shrimp: this was by far my favorite.  I normally do not like uni (sea urchin) so I was a bit hesitant as to how fresh this uni would be.  Yasuda had such melt-in-your-mouth uni that it’s really hard to beat.  However, this really hit the spot.  The umami flavor of the uni combined with the sweetness of the shrimp was a perfect combination.

uni on ebi shrimp

uni on ebi shrimp

Uni: That being said, the uni by itself was not that amazing.  Surprising eh?  If you look on my Yasuda post, you can tell the difference between the two types of uni served.  Yasuda’s sea urchin is so fresh it’s literally melting on the rice.  Here it’s a bit more solid and grainy.

uni

uni

Yellowtail with Pickled Sakura LeafThis was a really interesting combination.  For one, I’d never have pickled sakura leaf.  This addition really brought out the flavor of the fish.  Not to mention, it gave me a sense of what it would be like to eat sushi in Kyoto during the cherry blossom season.  I can’t explain the flavor but you can taste “cherry blossom” when you eat the leaf.  It’s something that I’ve had before, either in a candy form or some sort of pickle so I’m already familiar with it.  It was definitely exciting to eat and made me feel so happy, like I was back in Japan.

yellowtail with pickled sakura leaf

yellowtail with pickled sakura leaf

My apologies but I sincerely cannot remember the names of these pieces.  But they were really tasty!

Tanoshi Sushi (1) Tanoshi Sushi (2)

Here is a panoramic shot of the sushi bar: you can see how small it is.  There are a total of 3 sushi chefs.  The center chef serves two couples for a total of 4 people.  The other two chefs on the side serve one couple each.  The greatest part of this is that it is BYOL – you can pick your own sake bottle, chill it, and bring it in.  Or if you prefer wine, you can do that too.  Truly, an ideal date for me would be a sushi dinner in an intimate setting like this followed with a musical or symphony concert and then coffee/dessert to follow.  Now, all you have to do is find me and ask me out 😉

sushi bar

sushi bar

If you wanted to check out Tanoshi Sushi Bar, you can find them in the upper east side:

1372 York Ave, New York, NY 10021   ||   (917) 265-8254

Again, please make a reservation!  It will make your life so much easier!  Enjoy!

R/g

© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on November 7, 2015 at 20:29. It’s filed under Japanese, North America, restaurants, series, sushi, The Gastronome, The Traveller, USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

