An Atlantan in Seattle: Part 4, Final Meal

Elliott’s Oyster House: Seattle, WA, USA

I really wanted to take my mum to eat some great seafood on her birthday trip out to the PNW (Pacific Northwest).  Having had Elliott’s Oyster House before, I knew it wouldn’t let me down and it sure didn’t.  The things we ordered for the three of us to share included the following:

  • raw oysters
  • fried oyster entree
  • calamari appetizer
  • crabcake entree

Raw Oysters: This to me was something that I like to explore because I have found that oysters truly differ from location to location.  Having recently been in Baltimore for the year, I was spoiled with east coast oysters, especially with their oyster happy hours at $1/shuck.  It was a bit hard to spend at least $2-$3 per oyster but given that it was normal pricing, I went for it with my mum.  We were not disappointed.

PROS

  • served right in front of us, given that we were seated at the bar
  • they have some sort of pickled garnish that I have yet to find elsewhere because it is served in a slushy ice form!
  • sweet: even the “briny” versions were much sweeter in general than those on the east coast.  Love them!

CONS

  • none
raw oysters (upclose)

raw oysters (upclose)

raw bar

raw bar

Calamari: I want to say that if you are a seafood restaurant, I would hope that you would be able to serve up a decent dish of calamari.  I can’t say that the dish wow’d me in any sense, as in the breading wasn’t special in any way, but it was really tasty!

PROS

  • fantastic portions: we were almost full after the raw oysters and this dish.  Almost.
  • They served real baby octopus, not just chunks of squid.  I really appreciate a place that gives the tentacles if not sometimes the whole baby octopus sometimes.

CONS

  • a tad bit greasy
calamari (top view)

calamari (top view)

calamari

calamari

Crabcake Entree: this is going to be hard to beat given that I spent a year in the crab state of the USA.  Although I do have to say Baltimore, Seattle definitely has you whooped when it comes to crabcakes.  I think it’s the fact that in Maryland, they use Old Bay seasoning on EVERYTHING.  It’s like salt.  Except that when it comes to seafood, I like to taste the seafood.  While this was good, I can’t say that it was the best.  Truth be told, I still think Etta’s by Pike’s is better.

PROS

  • great portions, especially if you’re a light eater
  • not burnt on either side (this is key)
  • good ratio of crabmeat to stuffing and binder (even more key).  I love having more crabmeat than breading and so often, restaurants will try to gimp out on the seafood.
  • falls apart in your mouth!

CONS

  • Can’t say I like it served with rice. Jasmine rice on top of that.  This is also because I’m Asian and well, we don’t normally do crab cakes in Asian cuisine.  Not that I’m opposed to fusion, but there are better carbs out there to go with this.
crabcake entree

crabcake entree

crab cake

crab cake

Fried oysters entree: my sister loves fried oysters and so do I.  Who doesn’t like anything fried?

PROS

  • vegetables.  The sugar snap peas were exceptional.  Not overly cooked, super sweet and crunchy.
  • oysters were not over cooked either, just the right amount of batter

CONS

  • six oysters is really little for an entree plate 😦
fried oyster plate

fried oyster plate

fried oysters

fried oysters

All in all, it was a great way to end our trip to the Pacific Northwest.  I always have a heart for Seattle and if I could end up there, I probably would.  However, after seeing a two-bedroom attached house going for $1,500,000, I think my chances are slim to none being that there are houses in Atlanta with way more square feet, cheaper cost of living (including food) and for $350,000.  Yup.  You just have to put up with our crappy traffic 😉 .  In summary:

  • calamari: ***.75 (3.75 stars)
  • raw oysters: **** (4 stars)
  • crabcake entree: ***.85 (3.85 stars)
  • fried oysters: **** (4 stars)

If you wanted to check out Elliott’s Oyster House, you can find them just off the pier, I want to say pier 54 or 55.  They are literally right across from the Argosy boat cruises:

1201 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98101
(206) 623-4340

Yum,

R/g

© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on August 30, 2015 at 18:28. It’s filed under restaurants, seafood, series, The Gastronome and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

