An Atlantan in Seattle: Part 2

Pie Bar: Ballard Neighborhood, Seattle, WA, USA

I finally met up with my virtual foodie friend, R, and a longtime Domer friend of mine, T in Seattle.  T and I have known each other since 2000, and he introduced me to R about two years ago.  However, we’ve never met in person and today was finally the day!  We were originally going to go to a super popular molten chocolate cake store in Ballard, but the line was out the door.  Apparently it is out the door almost every day as this was a Sunday night! So they decided to take me to Pie Bar which was just down the street.

apple and berry cobbler

apple and berry cobbler

I can’t say I’m a pie lover.  But I do like it on occasion.  My favorite is probably egg custard followed with a berry cobbler.  If you don’t think that those two count as pies, then my next favorite would be pumpkin pie.  Mmmm.  At Pie Bar, they ordered a granny smith apple pie, and I ordered the a rhubarb berry cobbler.  Both were served with vanilla ice-cream.

Berry Cobbler

PROS

  • fantastic crumble topping.  It is hard to get crumble as nice as this place does.
  • Nice fresh summer berries, generous serving
  • served HOT with super cold ice-cream.  The contrasting temperatures are awesome.

CONS

  • none!

I really enjoy fruit desserts so I’m glad that they took me to this place.  It’s not to say that I would have loved molten chocolate cake either because chocolate cake is one of my favorites!  However, I was just in the mood for…pie.  🙂 All in all I give them:

  • berry cobbler with ice-cream: **** (4 stars)

If you wanted to check out Pie Bar for yourself, you can find them below:

2218 NW Market St, Seattle, WA 98107
(206) 535-8489

I hope you get to try all their pies because they look amazing!

R/g

© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.

					
This entry was published on August 29, 2015 at 17:51. It’s filed under desserts, North America, restaurants, series, The Gastronome, The Traveller, USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

