An Atlantan In Baltimore: Salad Break

James Joyce Pub: Harbor East, Baltimore, MD, USA

Truth be told, I rarely get salads when I eat out because it’s normally not worth the money.  However, I wasn’t super hungry but yet as I hadn’t had a regular dinner, I needed to get something.  So this time, I splurged on a poached pear salad at the James Joyce Pub after my friends and I finished watching the latest Pixar movie, “Inside Out”.

Poached Pear Salad

PROS

  • great quantity
  • extremely generous with the candied walnuts
  • good proportion of balsamic reduction dressing – my favorite actually

CONS

  • could use a crouton
  • definitely more poached pears given the amount of goat cheese on the salad.
poached pear salad

poached pear salad

I killed this salad, it was that good.  I love candied walnuts, and it was great to see a salad that was this generous with this topping.  For $9, it was worth it.  I was totally filled up, I felt great, and it tasted wonderful.  A balsalmic reduction dressing is a sweeter version of balsalmic vinaigrette because it literally has been boiled down to get more sweet.  I remember the first time I had it at a farmers market up in Whistler, CAN and had to buy two bottles to bring back.

If you wanted to try James Joyce Pub for yourself, you can find them literally across from the Landmark movie theatres in Harbor East:

616 S President St, Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 727-5107

Sometimes salad splurges are well worth it!

R/g

© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on June 24, 2015 at 12:36. It’s filed under American, North America, restaurants, salads, series, The Gastronome, USA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

