An Atlantan In Baltimore: Blue Moon

Blue Moon Cafe: Fells Point, Baltimore, MD, USA

I had always wanted to try Blue Moon after having had Miss Shirley’s for Restaurant Week back during my first term here at Hopkins.  Some bicker back and forth saying Miss Shirley’s is better while others disagree wholeheartedly and vouch for Blue Moon Cafe all the way.  I had to take the test for myself.  Per recommendation, I ordered the Sweet Baby Jesus: poached eggs with hollandaise sauce over jumbo lump crab meat, bacon, and plenty of cheese on house potatoes.  This is of course, decked with plenty of Old Bay seasoning.

PROS

  • hefty portion: Jesus, Mary AND Joseph, this was a huge plate
  • great amount of crab
  • generous with the hollandaise sauce

CONS

  • too heavy: I know! But there weren’t any greens or fruit accompanying this dish and I felt so ridiculously unhealthy and just heavily grease and cream-laden.
Sweet Baby Jesus

Sweet Baby Jesus

This was actually somewhat of a spur of the moment trip.  I had thrown together a last minute get-together 3rd term with a few of my friends who were still around and did not have a final to take on the last day of finals week.  It was really good food and great friends overall.  I always say that the company you’re with really makes the food taste oh so much better, and I was proven correct again.  In summary:

  • Sweet Baby Jesus: **** (4 stars)

If you wanted to check out Blue Moon Cafe, you can find them at the address below in the Fells Point neighborhood of Baltimore.  Just a tip: your entire party needs to be present for you to be seated.  Weekdays are difficult to get seatings but are probably better than weekends where the wait can get up to at least an hour long, as goes the word on the street.  Food-wise, I’ve also heard that their Capn’ Crunch french toast is to die for.  Maybe I will get to try that during the last month or so that I am here just finishing up a few things.  Until next time, check out Blue Moon, and I hope you enjoy it!

1621 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21231
(410) 522-3940

R/g

© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on May 24, 2015 at 22:37. It’s filed under brunch, restaurants, series, The Gastronome and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “An Atlantan In Baltimore: Blue Moon

  1. damn delicious!!!
    lovin the generous portion…

Leave a Reply

