An Atlantan in Baltimore: NYC Detour 2 – Part 2

Sakagura: New York, NY, USA

I made this reservation for one at lunch without too many expectations.  Truthfully, I had simply Yelp’d “Japanese” in New York City with the hope of finding something new and tasty.  It wasn’t cold enough for ramen, and yet I had the craving for noodles.  Sakagura was known for their soba noodles and so off I went.  Originally I had wanted the Jewel Bento box for lunch, but they only had a selected number and so I had to settle for the Sakagura Soba Gozen.

soba gozen bento

soba gozen bento

Sakagura Soba Gozen

This dish came with a very nice serving of soba noodles of which you can either order hot or cold.  I normally prefer my soba cold but many of the other patrons liked to have soba in a soup form.

homemade soba

homemade soba

They did serve it with some small side dishes, seasonal of course, including tofu, shitake mushrooms, sweet potato, and hijiki seaweed.  Those were really tasty.

seasonal sides

seasonal sides

side tofu

side tofu

The sashimi was of course, fresh.  Was it melt in my mouth?  Not compared to my foodgasmic experience at Sushi Yasuda.  However, it does beat a lot of the places in Baltimore and even in Washington D.C.  The portions were great for a moderately light-eater like yours truly.  This left room for the best part: dessert.

sashimi

sashimi

I had to get this as this was the best seller: black sesame creme brulee.  I was lucky enough to get seated at the bar so I got to see how it was made as I sat right in front of the dessert chefs.  In addition, they were nice enough to offer me an extra scoop of ice-cream with the flavor of my choice!  I got the earl grey for the second scoop and admittedly, the earl grey ice-cream flavor by far exceeds that of the black sesame.  But the creme brulee is seriously amazing stuff.  One of the servers recommended the chocolate souffle cake.  While I normally would go to this as a default, I was pretty full from my Soba gozen so I had to go for the lighter dessert.  It was so worth it!

black sesame creme brulee and earl grey ice cream

black sesame creme brulee and earl grey ice cream

black sesame creme brulee

black sesame creme brulee

earl grey ice-cream

earl grey ice-cream

All in all a summary: the Sakagura soba gozen set

  • soba: ***.75 (3.8 stars)
  • seasonal side dishes:***.8 (3.8 stars)
  • sashimi: ***.8 (3.8 stars)
  • black sesame creme brulee: **** (4 stars)
  • earl grey ice-cream:****.25 (4.25 stars)

If you wanted to check out Sakagura for yourself, I definitely recommend making a reservation.  They are well worth it, and their soba really was quite tasty.  All desserts are made in-house, including the ice-cream!  You can find them here in Midtown East:

211 E 43rd Street Basement Level New York, NY 10017
http://www.sakagura.com/

212-953-7253

Sakagura Location

Have a fantastic meal!

R/g

© 2015 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2015 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on April 14, 2015 at 10:19. It’s filed under Japanese, North America, restaurants, series, The Gastronome, The Traveller, USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

