An Atlantan In Baltimore: Korean Fix

Noc Won: Baltimore, MD, USA

We went here after a late night out to get our korean food fix.  One of the things that Baltimore lacks is a good Asian food scene.  Oh my, I miss my Asian food so much.  Noc Won definitely hit the spot for a late night “snack”, especially since they are open until 4am!

My friend (동생) said that he has always gotten their oxtail soup, but my favorite go-to for late-night korean food is rice cake dumpling soup (떸만두궄).  Hopefully that is the correct spelling!  I’m normally pretty picky about my korean food, but Noc Won totally hit the spot:

rice cake dumpling soup

rice cake dumpling soup

PROS:

  • flavorful, not bland
  • good amount of rice cake and dumpling ratio

CONS

  • none really! (but then again, I haven’t had mandoo guk in so long, I may have forgotten what really awesome mandoo guk tastes like.  And I forgot to get it in NYC to compare too!

I did manage to taste a bit of my friend’s ox bone soup (썰렁 탕) and it was really good.  Perfect flavors, not too salty, good amount of “creaminess” in the broth, and vermicelli that wasn’t falling apart.  I may have to try this the next time I go.  Their pan chan (side dishes) were…okay.  Not stellar, but at least they had it.  I can’t complain at 2am about side dishes right?

odeng

odeng

japchae

japchae

A summary:

  • rice cake dumpling soup (duk mandoo guk): ***.75 (3.75 stars)
  • ox bone soup (seolleong tang): ***.75 (3.75 stars)

If you wanted to check out Noc Won for yourself on some late night up by Penn Station, Baltimore, MD, you can find them here:

12 W 20th St, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410) 244-5501

Until next time, thank you again for your readership.  May your bellies be full and happy always!

R/g

© 2014 http://www.rammiegirl.com ©2014 rammiegirl.wordpress.com All Rights Reserved.
This entry was published on December 6, 2014 at 14:38. It’s filed under Korean, restaurants, series, The Gastronome and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

