November 3 is National Sandwich Day

Happy National Sandwich Day!

I can’t say that I am a complete fan of sandwiches, but there are moments when I do get cravings for a quality sandwich. I have to say that my favorite type of bread to use for a sandwich is a baguette. I love baguettes and so all those Parisian sandwiches in Europe are right up my alley. One of the things that I don’t like about those are how little substance goes into the sandwich. I’m sorry, maybe it’s my “American” way of thinking, but two thin pieces of prosciutto on a large fluffy baguette with two thin slices of cheese is NOT a sandwich. The ratio is totally off!

If I had to make my ideal sandwich, it would be whipped butter spread – possibly with garlic or herbed in some form, but plain is fine too. There would be prosciutto or some kind of cured ham. If it’s American ham, I like it to be honey-cured, preferably medium sliced and best if it’s a leftover from Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner. I also like dijon mustard with my ham sandwiches but that is dependent on whether there is cheese. My personal choice of cheese to go with my “ham sandwich” is none other than BRIE. Yes, it is looking like my sandwich of choice is very Parisian indeed. If I feel like being healthy, I may throw on some tomato, but sometimes my tongue may just feel the need for bread-and-butter pickles. But plain ham and brie with a bit of butter on a warm baguette, maybe some cranberry jelly, would be amazing.

What’s your favorite sandwich?

Foodimentary - National Food Holidays

www.earlofsandwichusa.com http://www.earlofsandwichusa.com

Here are today’s five thing to know about Sandwich:

  1. The sandwich is said to have originated over two thousand years ago with various combinations of meats and cheeses placed on bread or in pastry.
  2. This concoction didn’t get its name until 1762 when the 4th Earl of Sandwich, John Montagu, a British statesman, got hungry during a marathon poker game.
  3. He asked his cook to get him something to eat that wouldn’t interfere with the game.
  4. The cook took slices of roast beef and put them between two pieces of toast.
  5. He could eat a hearty meal with one hand and still be able to hold his cards in the other hand.

Unknown-1

Today’s Pinterest Board : Foodimentary

dvdr1

Today’s Food History

  • 1633 Bernardino Ramazzini was born. An Italian physician, he was the first to note the relationship between worker’s illnesses and their work environment. Considered the founder of occupational…

View original post 170 more words

This entry was published on November 3, 2014 at 14:32 and is filed under The Traveller. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

