And The Award Goes To…

Thank you to Ada at More Food Please for nominating me for the Sunshine Award!  It is really humbling to receive this nomination as I feel like my blog is just beginning.  I happen to actually enjoy this sort of award as it allows different bloggers to circulate among the world wide web and get to know each other on a creative level.

sunshine award

sunshine award

The rules for the Sunshine Award are as follows:

1. Include the Sunshine Award icon in your post and/or on your blog.
2. Link to the blogger who nominated you.
3. Answer 10 questions about yourself.
4. Nominate 10 other bloggers to receive the award.
5. Link to your nominees and let them know you nominated them.
6. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

Ada’s questions are as follows:

1. What do you look forward to most when you first wake up?

A.  Truthfully, I am the most groggy in the morning and it takes a bit of time until my head starts to get into gear.  However, normally the first thing that I look forward to is (and sadly) checking my email.  Somehow I like to feel “connected” to people in some form or another as soon as I start my day.  Being that I am single, this is usually the first thing that I like to do.

2. Are you a ‘night’ or a ‘day’ person?

A.  I am both.  Oddly enough, once I am awake (provided I get sufficient sleep), I function really well in the morning.  I also function really well at night.  The times when I do not function well (at all) is between 130pm – 630pm.  I attribute this to being born in Eastern hemisphere but having lived and grown up in the Western hemisphere.  My brain just doesn’t seem to switch completely between the two!

3. Why did you start blogging?

A.  I’ve actually been blogging for a long time, just on different venues.  The first time I started blogging was in 2001!  I’ve always loved to write and to share things with the world, beginning with little stories as early as age 11.  Blogging just makes it so much easier to “publish” my loves with others!

4. What would you like to see on my blog in the future?

A.  I am assuming this question is for Ada’s blog which is really quite a nice collection.  I would like to see a bit more posts featuring local flavors.  I’m always a fan of seeing how different authors and cooks use their neighborhood spices and/or ingredients in their kitchen.

5. What was the last thing you Googled?

A.  Being that I am in Asia at the moment, I actually googled if it was possible to purchase the pandan plant in the United States.  The pandan (or screwpine) plant is a flavoring that is really common here in SE Asia, and the plant is very difficult to find in the US, mostly because it doesn’t grow well in cold temperatures.

6. Flowers or chocolates?

A.  Flowers!  Preferably those that are potted.  You may find this surprising but I am not a chocolate fan unless it is dark chocolate or chocolate that isn’t too sweet, such as matcha (green tea) chocolate.

7. What has been your favorite blog post to write?

A.  It’s actually this current series on my Asia trip.  I love traveling as it gives me a wide exposure to different foods that I can share with my readers as well as many photo ops for the inner budding photographer in me.

8. When was the last time you did a handwritten letter, who was it to?

A.  The last time I wrote a note by hand was to an aunt of mine in Philadelphia.  I don’t think that they do email, and this was the only way to really keep in touch.  She had always sent me small cards with little handwritten notes in them saying that they were thinking and praying for me when I was really sick.  Somehow, getting something in the mail is always much better than getting something in email.  But nowadays, I guess it’s better to get something in email because everyone seems to be okay with just leaving a FB message or a text!

9. What cheers you up on a dreary day? 

A.  Believe it or not, I like snuggling up with a hot drink, tea usually, and watching anime on my computer.  HAHAHA, surprise!

10. What can we expect to find from your blog in the future?

A.  There will definitely be more posts about Japan as well as posts from Singapore and Malaysia.  When I have the time, I will be doing a lot of editing and organizing of my photos which will go up on my photo blog, V/ photography, that is linked to this main blog, Rammiegirl 2.0.

In regards to the ten bloggers that I nominate:

  1. Ocean  View Kitchen
  2. No Ramen, No Life
  3. Dora’s Table
  4. Curls & Carrots
  5. Gourmandistan
  6. Scribe Doll’s Musings
  7. Seth Adam Smith
  8. Shenanigann
  9. Cooking With a Wallflower
  10. Bunny And Pork Belly

The same set of questions above still apply.  They are quite intriguing no?  Thank you again to Ada for the nomination, and I hope to hear from the above ten bloggers in regards to this post and learning more about them as well!

Cheers from overseas,

R/g

This entry was published on May 23, 2014 at 04:58. It’s filed under Fellow Foodies, Friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

