Paris In Atlanta

Paris Baguette : Doraville, GA, USA

This quaint little tiny bakery and cafe is located off Buford Hwy in a very small lot just south of I-285.  It is very well decorated and poshy on the inside however.  Established and run by Koreans, it doesn’t amaze me that the presentation is simply spectacular.  I do wish that for what they are selling, it was more reminiscent of a true Paris bakery though.  The decor is definitely more Asian, as in more modern, super clean, and somewhat chic.

The food tends to be more European.  There is a lot of puff pastry.  I think if I knew how to make puff pastry from scratch, I could probably come up with a homemade concoction of 25% of what is out there.  They do have the swiss rolls that I love, including an apricot flavor.  I’ll have to buy it one day and actually try it though.

I’ve only been here about two times.  The first time was about a month ago, and I bought a small burnt-sugar canele.  Thank heavens for custard because this is my new favorite pastry.  I have always loved the Asian egg tarts that you can find at Taiwanese bakeries and at dim sum on the little go-karts.  However, this may well take its spot with its darkly caramelized cake on the outside.  Here is my rating/notes:

Canele

  • very small, almost bite-size for some people – recommend at least two per serving
  • fantastic outer cake layer with that nice burnt sugar caramelization
  • custard is done perfectly – not overcooked but not super soft either like the egg tarts: this keeps the cake from becoming soggy I believe.
canele

canele

The second time I came, I met up with two friends.  One friend and I split the chocolate lava cake.  I can’t say it was the best though:

Chocolate Lava Cake

  • microwaved or “toasted” in a toaster oven behind the register: no no no! blasphemy!
  • very small for $5
  • no “lava” : in other words, the chocolate was not oozing out of the center of the cake like it’s supposed to be
  • cake was good though: very soft, fluffy, not too decadent.  It’s the reason why I love chocolate cake more than chocolate itself.
chocolate lava cake - unbroken

chocolate lava cake – unbroken

chocolate lava cake - broken

chocolate lava cake – broken

All in all, a summary:

  • canele: **** (4 stars)
  • chocolate lava cake: **.75 (2.75 stars)

If you wanted to check out Paris Baguette, they can be found here:

5252 Buford Hwy NE

Doraville, GA 30340
(770) 455-8552
http://www.parisbaguetteusa.com/ParisBaguette/home.asp

Until next time, bon apetit!

R/g

This entry was published on May 1, 2014 at 01:28. It’s filed under bakeries, The Gastronome and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Paris In Atlanta

  1. There is a French restaurant in Atlanta we loved, but they MICROWAVED the fresh baguette. Killed me a little every time.

    Great review… lava cake does look so decadent. 🙂

    • I just wanted to make sure I read that properly…they “microwaved the FRESH baguette”… … i don’t know if I need a drink now or not.

      Oh and yes, goal in life: make molten chocolate souffle cake. successfully. HAHAHA. xox*

Leave a Reply

