Ehh??

A-Hyang: Duluth, GA, USA

It is pronounced “eh-heeyang”, and it has some superb korean stews.  I am by no means a Korean cuisine connoisseur, but I like my food!  I found this place first actually on my own.  We had wanted to try Danmooji, the korean street food restaurant a few stores down, but unfortunately had came on the day that they were closed!  However, that was when we discovered A-Hyang.  Our go-to is their kalbi-jjim (wiki reference attached).

One reason why I love this dish is the fact that it is a super slow-cooked version of beef stew, except it’s Asian! I like how it’s a little bit sweeter on the sauce as well.  Some places do individual style where they can add more ingredients to the sauce.  However, let me get to my review and then that will lead to my opinion at the bottom:

Here are a few of their pan chan or “appetizer” dishes (반찬), just for pictures’s sakes.  Relatively the same as most korean restaurants.  Mung bean jelly is supposedly good for your health, but I’m not sure in what regard.

odeng (fishcake)

odeng (fishcake)

pickled seaweed

pickled seaweed

acorn jelly

mung-bean jelly

The serving size is enormous, but this restaurant serves to share.  This means, you have to be okay sharing a vastly large pot on a bunsen burner.  One of the things I like about A-Hyang’s version of kalbi-jjim (칼빚찜) is the dduk (rice cake) pieces that they put into it as well as the mushroom halves.  I love mushrooms as they give off a nice earthy flavor to most dishes.  The one thing that I do miss though is the dried jujubes and the chestnuts.

kalbi-jjim

kalbi-jjim

If you are a small eater, or you have a small family (as in less than a party of 4 with moderate appetites), you will most likely have leftovers to take home.   Personally I think my mom likes to to take whatever is left and then add mushrooms and beef ribs from Whole Foods into her slow cooker.  The sauce essentially stays the same, sometimes we will modify it with a bit more soy sauce, sugar, spices, etc.  But the dish can potentially serve for 2 meals.  Keep in mind that because it is a shareable dish, the price comes out to be a lot more, roughly $33+ just for the dish itself.  To note though, as we have been going here for awhile now, I believe that they have reduced the size of the dish moderately in the past six months at least.  Normally, a person who goes all the time would probably not notice, but we haven’t been in awhile so I definitely picked up on this.

We also ordered the seafood pancake (해물파전).  It was really large, about $13, but I think I’ve had better pancake before.  There wasn’t that much seafood in it, nor vegetables actually.  Not to mention, I really like my pancake crispy.  A better version of it can be found at Cho Dang Tofu House off Buford Hwy.

All in all, a summary: 

  • kalbi-jjim: ***.5 (3.5 stars)
  • seafood pancake: **.5 (2.5 stars)

 The best individualized kalbi-jjim that I have had is actually at Myung Ga Won which is about 5 miles away.  I have heard of other restaurants that also have great kalbi jjim such as Seo Ra Beol which is less than a 2 minute drive from A-Hyang actually, but this will have to be verified at another point in time.  That being said, I think next time I go to A-Hyang, I should try their gamja tang or  pork bone soup.  Supposedly that’s something worth eating there as well.

If you wanted to try A-hyang for yourself, you can find them at:

3230 Steve Reynolds Blvd
Ste 102
Duluth, GA 30096
678) 473-1190

Thanks for stopping by!

R/g

This entry was published on March 6, 2014 at 16:01. It’s filed under Korean, restaurants, The Gastronome and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

