Tuna Melt Bites

This morning I didn’t want to take the hassle of making a southwestern omelet using the homemade corn salsa I whipped up a few days ago.  It’s below freezing for the second time this year, and laziness was just flowing through my bones.  So instead of a moderately healthy breakfast, I went for the complete opposite instead: tuna melt bites.

tuna melt bites

tuna melt bites

I had frozen some of the half-baked baguette dough from last weekend being that I wouldn’t be able to finish two entire loaves by myself.  That proved to be quite the prudent decision here.  Tuna melt bites are one of my favorite “snacks” because they are seemingly decadent with the knowledge that there is mayonnaise within the tuna salad.  That in and of itself though, isn’t normally enough to deter me from packing it into a huge sandwich (with sprouts of course) when I’m starving.  However, the “bites” allow me to portion control myself with both the mayonnaise as well as the cheese (another indulgent love of mine).

The recipe for the actual Tuna Melt Bites is pretty simple:

  1. Slice baguette into however many pieces you desire. Less is more for weight watchers.
  2. Spread 1.5 tablespoons of tuna salad on top.
  3. Sprinkle (or pack) the top with shredded mexican cheese blend (I get this from Kroger or Publix grocery stores but you can very well make your own shredded blend for a lot more money)
  4. Stick in the toaster oven for approximately 3-4 minutes until cheese has melted.

It’s a great snack for kids or for tea parties.  The recipe for my homemade tuna salad is pretty simple, nothing fancy.  I don’t know how much you can fancify tuna salad truthfully, but to each his own.  There are some individuals who hate raw onions (and mine definitely has some in there), and some who like less mayo versus more mayo.  Anyways, I have added my recipe to the archive so if you wanted to try it, definitely have a gander.  As I rarely measure out things with dishes that I do fairly often, my cooking disclaimer of “add to [personal] taste” most definitely applies hahaha!  Anyways, hope you enjoy this little ditty!

Buen Provecho!

R/g

This entry was published on January 22, 2014 at 10:50. It’s filed under recipes, Small Bites, The Gastronome and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Tuna Melt Bites

  1. Pingback: Everybody Tuna Salad | Rammiegirl 2.0

Leave a Reply

