Purple Cafe & Wine

Purple Cafe & Wine BarWoodinville, WA, USA (Seattle, WA)

This quaint little restaurant was brought to my attention on my recent trip out to Seattle during a wine tasting event out in Woodinville, WA.  We had just been to the Columbia winery where I had only had my one glass of white, but I was starving for some great food.  On this 1.5 week trip, I was lucky enough to be introduced to “Lindsay”, a fellow Domer alumni and friend of a friend (Tom). Lindsay (and I ask for forgiveness with any misspellings I may have with her name) has been in the Seattle area for approximately two years according to Tom, and was by far and large, a foodie.  Oh happy day!

lobster mac n' cheese

lobster mac n’ cheese

I have to admit, the state of Washington is chock full of fresh foodie resources, from the seafood ranging all the way to their fruit and vegetable selection.  Seattlites (Seattle-ites) are very proud of their local productions and will often ask for Washington wines and such.  Part of their wonderful selection of palatable goodies is … cheese!

Unfortunately, I only ordered one dish at Purple Cafe and Wine Bar.  Due to the varied amounts of cheese cubes, fruit, and crackers served at Columbia Winery, I was somewhat full.  However, I was still on a cheese binge given that I had had somewhat of a restricted cheese diet for the past eight months due to chemo and anti-cancer “self-awareness campaigns.”  That being said, what better way to kick off the weekend than by combining both seafood and cheese into one scrumptious piping hot dish: lobster mac and cheese. (Alright, so the menu says Maine lobster which is slightly disappointing, but I will take it).

lobster mac & cheese

First of all, I give an automatic five stars for the sheer portion size of the dish.  Literally it was made to feed four people as an appetizer.  The cheese sauce was just right: not too runny and somewhat grainy.  It is a gruyere cheese sauce so for those of you who prefer to go the more traditional route of cheddar (or Velveeta, take your pick), this may not necessarily be up your alley.  I however, am not a cheese snob in any way and welcomed this dish with open mouth.  The pasta was cooked very well except for the top layer, but this is more of a personal preference.  I do not like dried or overbaked pasta.  It tastes too rubbery to me and well, it’s “overcooked” in some form or another.  However, I realize that most mac and cheese recipes require a baking process so I normally just overlook it.

The lobster pieces are located all throughout the dish, so it’s like a little seafood surprise whenever you come across a piece.  I did take the majority of the dish home and it was perfect for a late night snack after a quick run-through in the microwave.  I can’t say that the julienned carrots did much for me.  I do like my fruits and vegetables, don’t get me wrong.  However, there just wasn’t enough of the carrots to really make a difference to me.  I think the best way to eat this dish though is to get a side salad of some sort.  There is somewhat of a carb and dairy overload, especially given the serving size, and a little refresher bite of green here and there could ease the palate some.

All in all, a summary:

  • Maine lobster mac and cheese: ****.5 (4.5 stars, minus half a star for the carrots)

If you would like to partake at Purple Cafe & Wine Bar on a trip to Woodinville (and you do have to have a car mind you), you can find them at: (they also have a Seattle location)

4459 Woodinville Redmond Rd. NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
Phone: 425.483.7129
Online reservations with OpenTable
Online reservations with Urbanspoon
web: http://www.thepurplecafe.com/index.html
 

HOURS
Sunday thru Thursday: 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday: 11am to 10pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday thru Friday: 2pm – 5pm

Bon apetit!

R/g

This entry was published on September 20, 2012 at 20:53. It’s filed under American, cafes, The Gastronome and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

